First Dance

Opening up my latest gallery of wedding photos for public viewing today! I’ve posted a few of these on the blog and on flickr, but since this was the first wedding I second-shot, I wanted to wait until the primary photographer was ready to share everything.

So without further ado, here is the gallery link: http://lmcphoto.smugmug.com/Weddings-1/David-and-Andrea

If you are curious, take a look! And if you want to see more, head over to my friend Sebastian’s webpage (http://sebastianorrphoto.com/). I have linked to him before, but we’re all in this together, so check him out! His website also has photos of my own wedding, which it feels a little strange to link to…

This, of course, is one of my first dance photos. I realized I didn’t post one of these in the original set so this seemed like a good time. This photo was taken without flash, as were the vast majority of these wedding photos. Usually I don’t feel like I have the freedom to do this, but I knew I could that night, so I gave it a shot (so to speak) and was pretty happy with the results! We’ll see how this works out in the future. I greatly prefer to use natural/available light, and can usually make it work, as long as clients are open to my style/look. Probably this is related to the fact that I used to photograph a lot of theatre and dance… Talk about limited lighting and a lot of motion! But shooting this way can be limiting, and I do get frustrated with the higher failure rate of trying to photograph basically in the dark.

Sorry for the ramble. I’m clearly still working this all out in my head! We can’t all be good at everything, so maybe it’s time I learn what I’m good at and really focus on that?

Let me know what you think, and take a look if you’re curious!

Leave a Reply

