the cowboy’s favorite cow


the cowboy’s favorite cow, a photo by Lily M-C on Flickr.

A little over four years ago I taught a middle school photography class. One of the daily assignments for my kids was to create a narrative using a toy or a figurine–I had a small assortment of tiny horses, lizards, and yes, monopoly pieces for kids who needed something to work with.

One of the most fun things about teaching this particular class was doing the assignments alongside the kids–and this project in particular is something I would like to bring back.

I called it the “adventures of the monopoly cowboy,” and although it’s a set on flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/48825088@N00/sets/72157622655271805/detail/) I don’t think I’ve every brought it up on the blog before!

This particular cowboy disappeared for a while, but sometime before we moved to Atlanta I found him again, tucked him into my camera bag, and told myself I’d start working with the project again sometime in the future.

Well, there’s no time like the present, so I’m going to give it another shot. I need something fun to work on now that my last wedding photos have been sent off into the digital universe… Keep an eye out for the return of the monopoly cowboy!

Leave a Reply

