Weddings!


IMG_1190.jpg, a photo by Lily M-C on Flickr.

This past weekend I had the pleasure of photographing a wedding as a second-shooter for a friend of mine (the same friend who photographed my own wedding, you can find him here: http://sebastianorrphoto.com/).

It’s the first time I’ve ever not worked as the primary photographer, and I had a blast! Getting the chance to watch somebody else lead and relax a little bit in my own work allowed me to slow down and enjoy the process in a way that I haven’t gotten to in a while. It reminded me that I genuinely like photographing weddings–and I think I ended up with some lovely work!

With very few exceptions I shot the entire wedding with my 50mm prime–which was NOT my original intention, it just kind of happened. I also basically left the autofocus off, and used the flash only a handful of times. I was able to do this because somebody was covering everything else, but it meant I got to experiment a little, have some fun, and see what happened (sorry, Sebastian!). I left the night with a bit more insight into the kind of work I like to do and equipment I might want to look into for the future–which is much appreciated.

So many good things!

I’ll probably be posting photos from this wedding throughout the week–I managed to get through a rough edit of the whole thing today, and although I won’t really be able to polish them up until the weekend, I can throw a few out there into the universe.

So many congratulations to this lovely bride and groom!

Leave a Reply

