an otter


an otter, a photo by Lily M-C on Flickr.

Ah, the annual christmas tree photo shoot.

I just can’t help myself.

This ornament? Well, it’s an otter. How could I possibly resist taking its picture?

My Mom and I like to hunt for interesting Christmas ornaments. When we can, we get them in sets of five (well, this year six!)–one for each member of the family. The set with the otter is from quite a few years ago. It definitely included a turtle–but I can’t remember what else!

Confession: since coming back to Atlanta post-New Year’s, we haven’t taken down our little tiny apartment tree. Or the Christmas lights. I just can’t handle it yet. Honestly, I sometimes think the season should last through the dark times of January and February–though maybe this won’t feel so necessary in Atlanta!

Until that is proved however–the tree, and the lights, will stay up. A little joy in the midst of darkness never hurt anybody.

One comment on “an otter”

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I *finally* took down the Christmas tree last weekend and thought of you when I put away the little otter. The turtle is missing 3 of its feet, I think. The corner is very lonely without the tree, but I suppose the time had come, and I’m proud of myself for getting it done by Valentine’s day! *_*


Leave a Reply

