trees and farm shed


trees and farm shed, a photo by Lily M-C on Flickr.

This has been quite a week. So please excuse the lengthy post to follow–usually this blog is more photo oriented–but I need to write a bit.

I started my new job a few months ago–right in the midst of the whole slew of big life changes I’ve mentioned lately–and was so grateful that I could ease into things, picking up clients slowly and filling in when needed. It was great. I got experience, learned the ropes, built a little confidence, worked on my licensing paperwork.

Oh, and I slept. I did a lot of sleeping. The kind of sleep you need after two and a half years of grad school night classes combined with working early morning bakery hours (and internships etc…).

Things are finally balancing back out. I’m ready to work more. Ready to get back into the game. And this week, wow. I felt it.

I only had one client show up for an appointment this week. I only went to work one day. And boy was that a wake-up call.

As much as I love being home–and have enjoyed organizing/cleaning/baking/etc… heartily–I am just not meant to be stay-at-home kind of girl, or, well, given recent events, wife. Not in this phase of life at least.

It’s a bit early for new year’s resolutions–but after the week I had? I’m making a few right here and now. First, I want to get on the marketing train and build my practice–filling up my two days a week at work and maybe even spilling into a third day. I would love to get some photography gigs–or join a group where I can get feedback and challenge myself a bit. And I want to write. It’s been a long time since I’ve gotten to write about the things that interest me without having to create research papers out of them. I used to be proud of my writing “voice,” where did that go?

Oh! And I want to find a way to sing. Or play my violin. I need more music in my life.

That’s all for now. Those are pretty big goals really!

I probably won’t be starting tonight. In the midst of my don’t-know-what-to-do-with-myself week I decided it’d be a good idea to make a batch of danish dough today, and I have pinwheels and cinnamon buns and a chocolate braid to make.

PS–I got my counseling license today!! I’m official! Well, in Ohio. Now I have to get all the Georgia paperwork through… But still! This has been a LONG time coming–yay!

One comment on “trees and farm shed”

  1. I LOVE THIS!!! 😀

    I hope you have a beautiful day! ❤


Leave a Reply

