Molly


Molly, a photo by Lily M-C on Flickr.

I have so many stories I could tell about this face.

The all-time camp favorite to re-tell is the time she refused to come out of the upper barn (ie the barn that was up a hill, far away, and nobody went to unless they were riding one of 5 or 6 horses who lived there) with me before a jumping lesson. literally braced herself against the ramp leading up and out of the barn.

It took maybe 20 to 30 minutes before somebody realized I hadn’t made it to the lesson, hollered up the hill to me (yes, I just used “hollered” as a verb), and I admitted defeat.

We won’t even go into what happened when I tried to jump her. She was NOT a horse built for anything more than trail riding and learning to sit the trot.

That being said, she’s really the sweetest girl–far too old and creaky to be ridden anymore–but we love her. And she’s pretty beautiful in her old-lady way.

Leave a Reply

