September 23rd, 2010

By: lmcphoto

Sep 23 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:6.1mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/12 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot G10

Is September really almost over? How terrifying is that?

I spent the last weekend in Charleston, attending my grandmother’s funeral. This doesn’t feel like the correct place or time to go into it all–but it was a rather emotionally exhausting few days. I’m lucky enough to have a wonderful extended family though, and am grateful for every day I got to spend with my grandmother and with all of them.

One of the stranger realizations I came to was that here I am, at 25, with no real knowledge of the city where my grandparents lived, and where my mom and her siblings grew up. And even though I do still have family in Charleston, it felt really important to see more of the city before I left. So my mom and dad and I spent an evening wandering around, taking pictures, and exploring a bit. I saw some of the buildings built by my great-grandfather. And we found a small marina on the Kanawha where we could walk down to the river.

It’s a beautiful place really.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

